Shopping Cart

Loreena McKennitt Official Store

The Visit [LP]

Broadening her focus toward a more eclectic range of Celtic-related subjects, and following her attendance at an international exhibition of Celtic artefacts in Venice, Loreena's writing in her fourth album, The Visit, takes on the form of musical historical travel writing. A multimillion-selling success around the world, this 1991 recording recasts Loreena's early influences in an inventive and contemporary light. Its nine self-produced tracks range from a haunting version of Greensleeves sung as I imagine Tom Waits might have done it and a stirring instrumental Tango To Evora to the heartrending traditional balladry and proto-environmentalism of Bonny Portmore and, finally, one of Loreena's best-loved creations, a gorgeously melodic setting of Tennyson's epic Arthurian poem The Lady Of Shalott.

  1. All Souls Night
  2. Bonny Portmore
  3. Between The Shadows (Persian Shadows)
  4. The Lady Of Shalott
  5. Greensleeves
  6. Tango To Evora
  7. Courtyard Lullaby
  8. The Old Ways
  9. Cymbeline