Under A Winter's Moon 2CD


Release date: 25 November, 2022

Loreena McKennitt’s Under A Winter’s Moon was recorded live during a series of seasonal concerts in a historic church sanctuary around the time of the solstice in December 2021. The two-disc package features approximately an hour’s worth of music and half an hour of spoken word which intertwine to create a unique and evocative seasonal listening experience. Under A Winter’s Moon is a captivating, live performance rich with a miscellany of carols and tales that incorporates McKennitt’s eclectic Celtic sound with elements of indigenous oral traditions. It offers both a connection to the past and a link to the spirit of the season, which continue to weave us together today and beyond.

This is McKennitt’s third seasonal recording and the 16th album in her catalogue. The 15 songs on the new release include such beloved favourites as “Snow”, “Coventry Carol”, “Good King Wenceslas” and the “Huron Carol” – the oldest known Canadian Christmas song. The seasonal readings are performed by Gemini Award-winning actor Cedric Smith, Canadian Indigenous actor and Companion of the Order of Canada recipient, Tom Jackson, and Ojibway artist and flautist Jeffrey Red George. McKennitt, who in addition to vocals plays harp, keyboard, and accordion, is accompanied by Caroline Lavelle on cello and recorders, Graham Hargrove on percussion, Errol Fischer on fiddle, Pete Watson on guitar and 12-string bouzouki, and Cait Watson on Irish whistle, all of whom also provide back-up vocals.

McKennitt is known for her cross-cultural blend of pop, Celtic and world music. She has sold over 14 million albums worldwide. Her recordings have achieved Gold, Platinum and multi-Platinum status in 15 countries, on four continents. She has twice been nominated for a Grammy Award and has won two Juno Awards, as well as a Billboard International Achievement Award. She has also performed in some of the world’s most iconic concert venues, including: Carnegie Hall; Radio City Music Hall; Royal Albert Hall; Alhambra Palace in Granada; Salle Pleyel in Paris; and Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, to name only a few. She has performed for the late Queen Elizabeth II and His Majesty King Charles III, and other heads of state and dignitaries.


CD One

  1. Tom Jackson Reads The Sky Woman Story 
  2. Bululalow 
  3. Let Us The Infant Greet 
  4. The Wexford Carol 
  5. Banquet Hall 
  6. Dickens Dublin 
  7. Un Flambeau Jeanette, Isabelle / I Saw Three Ships Medley 
  8. Jeffrey George Recites Winter Diamonds 
  9. Huron Carol 
  10. Let All That Are To Mirth Inclined 

CD Two

  1. Snow 
  2. A Child’s Christmas In Wales, Part One 
  3. The Holly and the Ivy 
  4. A Child’s Christmas In Wales, Part Two 
  5. God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen 
  6. A Child’s Christmas In Wales, Part Three 
  7. Gloucestershire Wassail 
  8. A Child’s Christmas In Wales, Part Four 
  9. Good King Wenceslas 
  10. A Child’s Christmas In Wales, Part Five 
  11. Coventry Carol 
  12. A Child’s Christmas In Wales, Part Six 
  13. In The Bleak Midwinter